Philippine Standard Time:

Dr. Matunhay elected as 2nd DDOSC President

In a decisive move to sustain the upward trajectory of the college, the Davao de Oro State College Board of Trustees (DDOSC-BOT), chaired by the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) Chairperson Hon. J. Prospero E. De Vera III, elected Dr. Lilybeth M. Matunhay as the next president.
The selection took place during a special meeting held on 29 May 2024 at the CHED Central Office, Quezon City.
Dr. Matunhay’s appointment followed a rigorous evaluation process conducted by the constituted Search Committee for Presidency (SCP) and the Governing Board.
Atty. Ryan L. Estevez, Chair of the DDOSC SCP, presented the final report, which assessed the candidates based on their professional competence, academic background, performance in a public forum, and a panel interview.
The candidates, Dr. Randy A. Tudy, Dr. Janice A. Fernandez, and Dr. Matunhay, were all present for the board meeting and participated in a thorough question-and-answer session with the CHED Chair and the BOT members.
Currently serving as the Chief for Administration and Finance at DDOSC, Dr. Matunhay will begin her four-year term as the second president on June 10, 2024.
Dr. Matunhay’s formal installation ceremony is set for June 14, 2024, subject to the availability of CHED officials.
Among her first major tasks as the newest president is to supervise the preparation of the college for ISO 9001:2015 (Quality Management System) 2nd Surveillance Audit in October 2024.
The special meeting was attended by the members of the board, including Dr. Maricar R. Casquejo, CHED RO XI Regional Director and Dr. Anthony R. Sales, DOST RO XI Regional Director.
Meanwhile, Hon. Congresswoman Maria Carmen S. Zamora (1st District Representative); Hon. James R. Agle, Jr. (Student Trustee); Hon. Jasper T. Egpit (Alumni Trustee); Hon. Randolph F. Alonzo, and Hon. Dexter Angelo Jocom (Private Sector Representatives) also attended via Zoom platform.
Additionally, representing the academic sector, Dr. Juanita C. Leopoldo virtually attended the meeting. Mr. Jay-R. Tayaban (College and Board Secretary) and Ms. Desiree Mae V. Abalos (Executive Secretary of the CHED Chair) were also in attendance.
The Search Committee for Presidency was initiated through BOT Resolution No. 09, series of 2024. During the Public Forum on the Search for the Next DDOSC President, Dr. Matunhay discussed her CRADLE vision, which includes Cultivating a vibrant educational ecosystem, R&D aligned with local, national, and global priorities, Advancement in governance and services, Diversification of production, Leadership excellence, and Empowerment of all stakeholders.
Dr. Matunhay succeeds Dr. Christie Jean Villanueva-Ganiera, CESE, who served as DDOSC’s first president from 2016-2024.
In related news, Chair De Vera also administered the oath of office to the newly-appointed Alumni Trustee, Hon. Jasper T. Egpit, who succeeds Hon. Andrey Sherbeth Erana, the alumni trustee since 2021.